SSSI Awards and Distinctions (Calls for Nominations)

Herbert Blumer Award for Best Graduate Student Paper in Symbolic Interaction

Please submit an electronic copy of the paper to be considered to the chair of this committee (Robert Scott) by April 1, 2023.

Chair:                Robert Scott(

Committee:       Ken Hanson (

Daina Harvey (

Kathy Charmaz Early-in-Career Award

All nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination detailing the candidate’s contributions to symbolic interaction and most noteworthy research and publications thus far, (b) letters of support that address the award criteria, and (c) the candidate’s CV. Please send this to the chair (Alexandra Vinson) by April 15, 2023.

Chair:           Alexandra Vinson (

Committee:  Deana Simonetto (

Christopher Schneider (

Charles Horton Cooley Award for Best Recent Book in Symbolic Interaction

Nomination deadline: March 3, 2023. Copies of the books must be received by the committee by the deadline. If you are submitting a nomination for the Cooley Award, please ensure that you contact the publisher as soon as possible to allow sufficient time for copies of the books reach the committee. Electronic copies are permitted and are preferable where shipping will cause delays.  Nominated books must have been published within the three preceding years of the award (March 2020 to March 2023).

Chair:            Michael L Walker (

Committee:   Scott Grills (

Heather Shay (

Amanda Gengler (

Helena Lopata Award for Excellence in Mentoring

All nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination and, (b) multiple letters of support, ideally from people with different mentoring relations with the candidate, that testify to a sustained career of outstanding mentorship. Please submit these materials by March 1, 2023 to the chair of the committee (David Schweingruber).

Chair:            David Schweingruber (

Committee:   Margarethe Kusenbach (mkusenba@usf.ed)

Eric Silva (

George Herbert Mead Award for Lifetime Achievement in Symbolic Interaction

Mead award nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination from a current member of SSSI, (b) at least two letters of support, and (c) a current CV. Nominations should be sent to Michael Johnson, the chair of the committee, by January 27, 2023.

Chair:            Michael Johnston (

Committee:   Eviatar Zerubavel (

Lori Holyfield (

More information about the awards and criteria can be found at:

Information about the Awards, Recent & Recent Award Winners can be found here