SSSI 2022 Awards – Call for Nominations

Dear Colleagues, 

As a reminder, the due date for nominations for 2022 awards is rapidly approaching. Please forward all award nominations to the appropriate committees by April 1, 2022. The list of awards and committees follows below:

Dear Friends and Colleagues, 

On behalf of the Executive Committee, I’m pleased to share with you that the nominations for the Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction’s annual awards are now open. With the exception of the Cooley book award, all nominations are due to committee chairs by April 1, 2022. Please submit your nomination(s) directly to the relevant committee chair and committee members via email. Thank you to all of our committee chairs and members for their service in adjudicating these awards. 

Herbert Blumer Award for Best Graduate Student Paper in Symbolic Interaction

Chair:                  Alexander Hoppe –

Committee:       Lisa-Jo van den Scott –

                            Michaela DeSoucey –

Kathy Charmaz Early-in-Career Award

All nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination detailing the candidate’s contributions to symbolic interaction and most noteworthy research and publications thus far, (b) letters of support that address the award criteria, and (c) the candidate’s CV. 

Chair:                  Baptiste Brossard –

Committee:        Natalia Ruiz-Junco –

J. Sumerau –

Charles Horton Cooley Award for Best Recent Book in Symbolic Interaction

Nomination deadline: March 4, 2022. Copies of the books must be received by the committee by the deadline. If you are submitting a nomination for the Cooley Award, please ensure that you contact the publisher as soon as possible to allow sufficient time for copies of the books reach the committee. Electronic copies are permitted and are preferable where shipping will cause delays.  Nominated books must have been published within the three preceding years of the award (i.e. between March 2019 and March 2022). 

Chair:                  Anne Rawls – and Waverly Duck –

Committee:        Carole Gayet –

Clemens Eisenmann –

Peter Manning –

Helena Lopata Award for Excellence in Mentoring

All nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination and, (b) multiple letters of support, ideally from people with different mentoring relations with the candidate, that testify to a sustained career of outstanding mentorship. 

Chair:                  Timothy Hallet –

Committee:        Anne Groggel – 

Jelani Ince – 


George Herbert Mead Award for Lifetime Achievement in Symbolic Interaction

Mead award nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination from a current member of SSSI, (b) at least two letters of support, and (c) a current CV. 

Chair:                  E Doyle McCarthy –

Committee:        Gary Alan Fine –

Rebecca J. Erikson –



More information about the awards and criteria can be found at:

Best wishes, 

Stacey Hannem

Secretary, SSSI

About Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction - Blog

The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction (SSSI) is an international professional organization of scholars interested in the study of a wide range of social issues with an emphasis on identity, everyday practice, and language.
This entry was posted in Announcement, Award, SSSI, Symbolic Interaction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s