Call for Award Nominations (Deadline: March 1st) #sssi

Friends and Colleagues,

Nominations for the 2018 SSSI Awards are due March 1st. Information for each award is copied below. See the SSSI website ( or email the committee chair(s) for more information.

Please consider submitting a nomination for one or more of these awards.

Thank you!

● The George Herbert Mead Award for Lifetime Achievement
 is given annually to recognize a scholar’s career contributions to the field of symbolic interactionism. Nominations are also open to those who have proposed scholars in the recent past, but a new nomination with supporting materials is required.

Chairs: Deborah van den Hoonaard ( and Will van den Hoonaard (
Committee Members: Susie Scott (; Andreas Salvini (

● The Charles Horton Cooley Book Award Committee announces its call for nominations for the 2018 award. This award is given annually to an author for a book that represents an important contribution to the perspective of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for the 2018 award, a nominated book should have a publication date between 2015 and 2017. Previously nominated works within this three-year publication period remain eligible but must be re-nominated.

Please send nominating letters and copies of books to all three committee members by March 1, 2018.

Chair: Elizabeth Hordge-Freeman
The University of South Florida
4202 E Fowler Avenue, CPR 107

Department of Sociology

Tampa, FL 33620


Patrick McGinty
Dept. of Sociology & Anthropology
Western Illinois University
1 University Drive

Macomb, IL 61455

Michael Schwalbe
605 Long Leaf Drive

Chapel Hill, NC 27517

● The Herbert Blumer Graduate Student Paper Award is presented annually to the author of the best graduate student paper in the tradition of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for this award, authors must be enrolled in a graduate program. Those who have been awarded a Ph.D. prior to May 2015 are not eligible. Submitted papers cannot have been accepted for publication at the time of this submission, although papers under review may be submitted. The winner of this award may submit the paper for publication in any appropriate journal, including but not limited to Symbolic Interaction.

Chair: Daina Cheyenne Harvey (
Members: Andrea Laurent-Simpson (; Tian Xiaoli (

● Helena Lopata Mentor Excellence Award. The relationship between a student and a faculty member can have a profound, lifelong influence on both parties. Likewise, established and accomplished teacher-scholars can serve equally influential and encouraging roles for junior colleagues and provide crucial sup-port for early and mid-career transitions. In sum, the mentoring relationship inspires, gives confidence, and culminates in valuable collegial relationships. The effective mentor serves as advisor, teacher, advocate, and role model. The SSSI Helena Lopata Mentor Excellence Award recognizes these important contributions to our society and craft. Nominees must be members of SSSI to be eligible for this award. We seek nominees who show evidence of:

–          a sustained career as a beneficial role model;
–          a sustained record of mentoring students and junior colleagues in acquiring the skills and resources necessary for career success;
–          promoting successful and timely completion of students’ degree programs;
–          supporting attendance and participation at conferences;
–          imparting informed advice relating to career opportunities and choices;
–          establishing opportunities for networking and professional connections;
–          motivating students and junior colleagues about research and teaching activities;
–          helping students and junior colleagues develop a range of talents including skills in research, teaching, professional presentations, writing, preparation of grant and fellowship applications, etc.;
–          integrating students and junior colleagues into the broader culture of the SSSI.

All nominations should include (a) a letter of nomination and, (b) multiple letters of support, ideally from people with different mentoring relations with the candidate, that testify to a sustained career of out-standing mentorship.

Chair: Eric O. Silva (
Members: Natalia Ruiz-Junco (; Douglas P. Schrock (

● The SSSI Early-in-Career Award Committee recognizes junior scholars’ contribution to the field of symbolic interaction and potential. The award specifically honors those scholars who have made significant contributions within the first ten years since the completion of their PhDs. Nominations are made through support letters sent (by SSSI members) to the chair of the award committee. Support letters should include the following information: the candidate’s most noteworthy research and publications thus far; contributions to symbolic interaction; and the candidate’s CV.

Submit nomination letters and relevant materials by March 1, 2018.

Chair: Carrie Sanders (
Members: Hans Bakker (; Maggie Kusenbach (

About Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction - Blog

The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction (SSSI) is an international professional organization of scholars interested in the study of a wide range of social issues with an emphasis on identity, everyday practice, and language.
This entry was posted in Announcement, Award, SSSI. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s